DC Global Media Innovator to be awarded at DC Gala 2018

The DC Global Media Innovator 2018 will be awarded on the occasion of the Diplomatic Council Gala on February 2, 2018 in Frankfurt.

Award for most innovative and influential company in the digital media world

The DC Global Media Innovator (GMI) recognises the company that has the greatest influence on the advancement of the digital world society. The winner is carefully selected by a top-class Board made up of international and independent media and IT experts. Applications cannot be submitted for the GMI Prize, however, the Board takes into consideration innovations across the entire media industry before the winner is determined.

The Global Media Innovator was launched in 2016 and awarded to the British company V-Nova for the first time. V-Nova has developed a revolutionary technology to transmit huge data volumes through existing data cables – an innovation that provides the basis for a large number of new digital offerings and services around the world. The 2017 Global Media Innovator was awarded to US-based Emblematic Group, a leading creator of immersive virtual, augmented and mixed reality experiences.

DC GMI Board enlarged

In preparation for the third DC Global Media Innovator to be awarded on February 2, 2018, the GMI Board was expanded and enriched with new members. 2018 board members are: Blair Westlake, Principal Media Squareup in Seattle, Ed Hall, Managing Partner Media Expert Partners (EMP) in London, Robin Eckermann, Principal Robin Eckermann & Associates in Canberra, Jo Groebel, Director Deutsches Digital Institut in Berlin, Ian Weightman, Vice President Research and Operations, IHS Markit Inc. in Austin/Texas, Moeed Ahmad, Head of Innovation & Incubation Center at Al Jazeera (Qatar), Dato’ Ng Wan Peng, Chief Operating Officer of Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (Kuala Lumpur) and Ijeona Onah, Senior Audiovisual Industry Consultant in Nigeria.

In case the Board members cannot agree on the winner, the final decision is taken by Ambassador Buddhi K. Athauda, Founding President of the Diplomatic Council.