The Statutes of the Diplomatic Council

This is our commitment

The Diplomatic Council (DC) was founded as a non-governmental organisation (NGO) with the purpose of developing friendly relations among nations. The organisation shall act transnational with no explicit obligation towards an individual state or government. The Diplomatic Council enjoys consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council and follows the principles of the charter of the United Nations, established by its 193 member states.

In using diplomacy, the Diplomatic Council unites its strength to maintain international peace and freedom all over the world. To accomplish this mission, the Diplomatic Council strives for worldwide collaborations to resolve international problems of economic, social, cultural and humanitarian character and to further promote and foster respect for human rights and the fundamental freedom for all human beings regardless of their ethnic heritage, their gender, their language or their religion.

The Diplomatic Council is solely based on the trusteeship of the members of the diplomatic corps and distinguished personalities from politics, economy, society, science, culture and sports. DC members are honoured to support each other in order to achieve the organisation’s objectives.

Membership in the Diplomatic Council is granted upon recommendation of a DC member or after consent of the Executive Committee and will last as long as it is terminated by the member itself or by the Diplomatic Council for important reasons. Important reasons include violations against the organisation’s principles or the refusal of assistance to other members who act in conformity with the organisation’s aims.

The Diplomatic Council was established by a group of ambassadors (Ambassadors Circle) under the leadership of the Founding President Buddhi Athauda. The official language of the Diplomatic Council is English, however, correspondence and communication in any other recognised language is permitted as far as practical. On request of the Executive Committee, all correspondence related to the affairs of the Diplomatic Council shall be conducted in English.

The Main Bodies of the Diplomatic Council are:

  • The Presidents Office
  • The Ambassadors Circle
  • The Secretary General
  • The Executive Committee
  • The Steering Committee

New subsidiary bodies may be established as may be found necessary.

The Diplomatic Council is financed by membership fees and donations from sponsors who share the visions and values of the Diplomatic Council. A sponsoring membership is welcome after approval of the Executive Committee.